“But that’s not fair!!!”

“Oh really, you say that so often. I wonder what your basis of comparison is?” (Thank you Labyrinth and David Bowie, King of everything awesome)

It's totally not fair that this beautiful sunflower field is in OHIO and I'm in DC *blaaaarg*

Fairness. It seems like most hot topics in the news could boil down to this concept. The Arizona Immigration Law. Gay marriage. Healthcare. The job market. The economy. Who gets the bailouts and the tax breaks. There’s always a group of people that cry out, “That’s not fair!”

Well, at the risk of sounding like my mother, life’s not fair. Fairness is a human construct, like time. Without humans, “fair” wouldn’t exist. Do you think that as a lioness takes down a gazelle, she wonders whether or not it’s fair? It’s a brutal world where no one but your family has your back. (And family can mean many things, but that’s a topic for another post.) Within the family might be the only place where fairness exists. Outside of your family, fairness means nothing. If you want something done, you’ve gotta fight for, strive for, and do it yourself. Nothing is ever going to be fair for everyone. That’s why we have winners, losers, and compromises.

But aren’t you being a little harsh?

You’re damn skippy I’m being harsh!!! We sometimes need things to be harsh to discover reality. I was pretty spoiled growing up. I didn’t have to learn how to take care of myself. The past month has been an eye opener. And I’m ready now. I expected to get an awesome job straight out of Denver Publishing Institute because I got good grades at a good school and because I had further education than just undergrad. Guess what? I’m working two crappy jobs that I hate just to pay bills. Because I didn’t work hard enough to get my dream job. I wasn’t aggressive enough in the job market. And at first, I thought it wasn’t fair. I did the best work in school, so I should get the best entry level job in publishing. Oh so wrong. Oh. So. Wrong.

Life’s not fair. Nothing will ever get handed to you. If you want the right to marry who you love, fight for it. Make people listen. Yell louder than stupid conversatives or others who would keep you from your rights. Only one side will win, so make it your side. “Be the change you want to see in the world.” -Gandhi. Take care of yourself because you’re the only person you can count on 100% of the time.

Fair is just a human concept that has no real element in our world. Maybe in a Utopian society, but we live in the real world.  I spoke with Ruth about this briefly last Sunday, and we exchanged a lot of ideas on the topic. It’s refreshing to still be able to talk with my friends like I’m still in Indiana. But Ruth commented that the only Utopian society that could function in our world would be under Christ as a leader and that only then could there ever be true fairness on a global scale.  That really made me think for awhile. How much of the concept of fairness is tangled in religion? Of course it’s severely tangled in philosophy, but religion? Well, I guess religion is philosophy. I don’t have the answers to my questions and ponderings. Maybe I’ll discuss it with Ruth the next time we talk. (We also had an in depth conversation about aliens. Yep, that’s Ruthie and me. God and aliens. *smiles*)

Just stop and think the next time you think something isn’t fair. Maybe it’s not from your perspective. Maybe it is from someone else’s though. If you want life to be fair, then make it that way.

6 responses to ““But that’s not fair!!!”

  1. God and aliens. ::giggles:: It’s not so strange… Genesis 6 people, Genesis 6. Let’s talk about the children of angels and other such craziness that happened in the old world. 🙂

    BTW, Wenders, thought you would get a kick out of these 2 things:

    1) Yesterday, my grief counsellor essentially told me I should be dating her friend, and is trying to set us up on FB.

    2) Although I’m pissed at Aaron for cutting me out of the lives of a lot of our mutual acquaintances, I still found out about how MJ is doing with his chemo. Did you get my voicemail? Listen to what I overheard from our surgical-prep nurses making calls behind me in the office that break HIPAA regulations… Go listen to it!!!

    3) I feel like Indiana is okay, for now, but I miss you like a fat kid at weight loss camp misses his doughnuts.

    • Oh Ruthie,
      I too miss you like a fat kid misses cupcakes when she’s on a diet.

      I did get your voicemail!!!! I was just so busy last night that I didn’t get a chance to call you back. Thanks for letting me know though! It brightened my day.

      Is your grief counsellor allowed to be a matchmaker too? Isn’t that against some kind of rule?

      I love you, and I miss you terribly

      • Not sure if matchmaking violates any rules. Technically, when our session ends, the therapist/patient relationship codes sort of expire. I mean, she’s not allowed by confidentiality regulations to ever disclose anything from our therapy sessions to this guy, but she can say that she “knows me” and that he’d “like me.” That, and I told her I spew my non-private musings to the world most of the time anyway on my blog….

        BTW, must call you soon and ask you about Tree-climbing, etc. Also, need your advice about a boy…

  2. And yes, I realize that I said “2” things and posted three. That’s just because I knew you’d get a kick out of that, too.

  3. I’m not sure I believe that our concept of fairness is wholly tied to religion. True, religion probably influences it – as it does just about everything else in the world – but the folks you hear complaining most often about fairness are the very young. (And those who never grow out of that mindset.) Children are very firm in their ideas of “fair.”

    Maybe it’s more of a herd mentality; I don’t know. I’m no anthropologist. But there’s definitely something inside of all of us that asks the question “Why him and not me?”

    Unfortunately, not enough people ever hit the realization you’re having.

  4. Here’s something to ponder, if Christ did rule the world in a governmental sense, would it be a theocracy? While he was physically on the earth, he worked as a teacher. He was a teacher. He didn’t build Christianity around himself as part of his teaching ministry. The religion of Christ formed after his execution and resurrection. And think about how big G operates. He could force us to all worship him, but instead he gives us free choice, free will, freedom of thought.

    After pondering all that, then remember that many did try to offer Christ governmental dominion over man, and he refused.

Leave a Reply

