“i loved everything about you that hurts so let me see your moves”

scrape off this black scar

you didn’t brand it in

perhaps no one did

no

someone did

I won’t let them say it’s me any longer

it’s them not me

but I used to believe them so maybe it was me

maybe I am the girl that’s good enough to sleep with

but never good enough to date

too damaged to love but

still appealing enough to share a night

or just an hour

maybe it was me branding myself

holding a smoldering stick of cancer to my wrist

maybe it’s everyone

except you

not you

never you

you’ve put up a charred facade

is it easier

did it hurt

where’s the zipper

take it off

throw it on my floor

next to your clothes

you won’t

you want everyone to believe that’s all there is

but I can still see a fissure of red

you can’t convince me that it’s all black

I see the red

and that red belongs to me

even if only for a moment it’s enough

but if you want

if you could

you can have my scar

to patch your seam

and I’ll be pure red

and you’ll be pure black

then maybe we’ll be

completely

naked

One response to ““i loved everything about you that hurts so let me see your moves”

  1. I adore the emotion in this poem. I have experienced it from the other side as I am overweight and unattractive by societys standards. It is hard to be ugly and hard to be lovely as well. The real me ? The real you? So hard to know….Too easy to judge by what we view…..

Leave a Reply

